How to Motivate Students with No Eagerness to Study

Active teacher (and student) topics are at ESL Forums

Moderator: Joe

nino

How to Motivate Students with No Eagerness to Study

Unread post by nino »

Hello everyone,

An inexperienced English teacher here asking for some advice.

I graduated from a very reputable university in Turkey, and teaching English was not really among my career plans. Yet, with some twist of fate, in the October of 2017 right after graduating I started teaching at this private institution. Things work in this institution in such a not-educationally-professional way that several months ago I quit the job. But now I am back and going to be working here for a while at least. So I have decided to -do my best to- figure out a way to make teaching here easier for me, and maybe even enjoyable. For this I need your advice.

In this institution there is no failure: even though a student may fail all the exams, if they have attended %70 of all classes they are given a certificate. Knowing this, students do not bother to learn. Most of them do not even do the homeworks. What I end up ultimately is a B1 class where some students cannot even speak A1 English. Because I can't fail them and they proceed to the next level nonetheless. So teaching in this kind of classes gets unbearable for me.

So here are my questions:

I) What can I do to make the students study? What can I use as leverage?

II) How can I acquire a method based more towards making them speak English, rather than mere grammar and vocavulary?

III) Any particular, efficient way of teaching a particular skill, or advice on teaching overall: they are all welcome.

Thanks!
sigmoid

Re: How to Motivate Students with No Eagerness to Study

Unread post by sigmoid »

This is a very common problem with teaching in many countries where all students are required to study English.

Basically, you need to look into student-centered activity-based lessons.